↑ Return to Club History

The Beginning – 1968

Gloucester Lions Club received its Charter in November 1968.

The sponsoring Club was Metcalfe and District Lions Club.

The Charter President was Fred G. Barrett.

Fred G. Barrett – Charter President

Charter members

William Augey,  Fred  Barrett,  Bill Bonsall,   Imile Brousseau,   Roy Depper,  Eldon Dunning  Ed Gravell, Oliver Hibbord,  Rick Hugh’s,  Kenneth Johnston,  Fred Johnston,  Robert Kemp,  Rene Lepage,  Eldon Lough,  Frazer MacDonald,  Russell  McAlliste,r  Bev Meldrum,  Fred Meldrum, Fred Meldrum,  Irv Taylor,r Paul Turgeon,  George Urqhart,   Cecil Cameron,  Allen  LeBreton,  Glen(Bud) Tanner,  Robert Scharf,  Frank Cousineau  Harry White.

Lions Den

For many years the Club made its home at the Fred Barrett Arena in Leitrim, renamed The Gloucester Lions Hall. Current meetings are held at the Falcon Ridge Golf Club.